Game problems – unable to update!!

20 11 2009

Hi guys

I do not know if any of you are experiencing this – but two days ago EA asked me to update my game with patch 1.6 then a day later with 1.7.  Naively i did it and am now not able to play the game!!!!

First it just would not load and after trawling through the forums i heard that you needed to take away your mods.  So i did this and it did the trick as i can now load the game.  But there are still two major problems:

1.  the game is so slow i cannot play it

2.  I have NO mods – so all my gorgeous sims look completely different.  So if i did perceive with the slowness of the game i could not update on here as you guys would have no idea what was going on!

Heartbroken is an understatement, but i am trying everything to sort it out.  I have contacted EA and am waiting for them to get back to me.  And have also asked for advise on the forums: http://forum.thesims3.com/jforum/posts/list/0/128115.page#1576079

In the meantime, if anyone knows how i can solve this problem without re-installing my game and losing the 7 generations of the Shenston legacy – i would be so grateful to hear about it.

So to keep the momentum of the story going i am going to put the vote for legacy heir up early.  PLEASE CLICK HERE to place your votes and the results and story will continue once i have sorted these patch problems out.

All the best and i hope you keep reading xxxxx

Actions

Information

26 responses

20 11 2009
zenna96

Hmm, I’m on a mac and have the 1.4 update. It affects the mods so your sims show up bald every time you play UNLESS you clear the caches/ If you are on a PC, you could try clearing your caches every time whilst the game is loading if you werent already. :/

20 11 2009
kama674

Hmm….never happened to me before. Maybe try uninstalling the patch (if you can) or ask aarin. She’s got a blog and she will probably be able to help you. Maybe try uninstalling all of the CC too….. or ask EA!

20 11 2009
cotys

Once you get your game to work… just get awesomemod and never update again. Or demand your money back, if the game no longer works for you.

20 11 2009
Carla

Well there’s an even newer update that solves that problem..

21 11 2009
maria

remove all mods and cc except hair and skins. awesome mod and teen pregnancy mods wont work

21 11 2009
Carla

Ohhhh… So how do you remove the teen pregnancy mod, maria???

21 11 2009
Baucom Legacy

I think if you wanted to uninstall custom content you could just go to the launcher downloads and delete it from there or something…

21 11 2009
polly75

All my sympathies to you. I haven’t updated yet, because I visited the forum first and when I read about all the problems I decided to wait. Now I feel very lucky. I can only imagine how devastating it would be to have a my legacy all messed up.

Here is some tips I read anyway:

1. You don’t have to loose your saved game fils just bacause you have to reinstall the game or make updates! Just make a copy if your saved game file and put in a safe place. If you can’t find your save, there should be a back-up file somewhere in the saves folder.
2. Remove all mods the has influence on the gaming process (like awesome mod, the teenage pregnancy hack etc.)It will not work with the update until a new version of the mod comes out).
3. Move all your cc (the mods folder and the resource-file) and put it somewhere else during your installation process.
4. Put all your cc back, or if you want to be on the safe side, put it back one by one and try. Most of it will probably work. I read in one thread that all hair, makeup and clothes should work, but that it could be some problems with furniture, probaly due to the fact that this update changes lightening of textures and surfaces.
5. What I read, all cc that is in sims3pack-files format, and is installed by the launcher should be fine.

This is what I would do, when I decide to update…
I really hope you all manage to sort this out soon!

21 11 2009
StarSarah - TheShenstonLegacy

Thanks guys so much for your advise and support. I am devestated that this has happened aswell as really angrey with EA. But i will not give up and am going to try everything that everyone has suggested to make it all better. Stay tuned…. xxx

22 11 2009
Rad

My package CC isn’t working in WA – sims3pack CC still works fine. It worked fine with the 1.6 patch pre WA though. Fortunately I don’t have too much CC so it doesn’t matter to me that much. If it really screws up, you can’t let the family go, you’ll just have to write in some crazy storyline where they all get makeovers!

Hope you sort it soon x

22 11 2009
maria

to remove teen pregnancy mod go to the mod folder and remove all the teen pregnancy files

22 11 2009
cotys

If you’ve been using awesomemod, it’s not going to work until pes comes out with another version for WA. additionally, all furnitures and accessories aren’t going to work, nor hacks. clothing and hair should work, but i suggest you remove all .package files until you get the go ahead from the original creator to use them. try looking at MATY and PMBD to get more info, or MTS. they’re the only ones who actually understand how the game works… there’s not going to be any info on the forums or TSR.

22 11 2009
maria

I removed all package files except the hair and clothing and it works perfectly. just make sure you remove all the mods until they r updated

22 11 2009
Rad

Sarah: if you have WA, this might work (it did for me). It might work anyway, actually…

http://www.sims3fanatics.com/news/world-adventures/handling-mods-with-world-adventures/

22 11 2009
Rad

Oh and remove all hacks for now til they’re play tested.

22 11 2009
Beckey

Hiya Sarah, I know you will have way more cc then me but this is what worked for me. I updated… I couldn’t get on… I removed all mods… My sims wouldn’t interact with each other… I removed all CC… everythin worked apart from rubbish lookin sims… Redownloaded all CC apart from pregnancy mods, awsome and indie… It stopped working, I look in Mods and I saw a mod called gameplay… I got rid of that and it worked again. Hope its works again soon!

xoxo Bex

22 11 2009
Beckey

P.S I don’t have WA yet… Way to expensive for me.. Going to ask my sister for it for Xmas. =D

22 11 2009
Melissa

What mods are you using anyway, Sarah? Are you using Awesomemod? I don’t, I actually use Crazy Town’s/Twallan’s Story Progression as my story driver (and also his Supercomputer). He’s already updated most of his mods for 1.6, you might want to look into them if you aren’t using them. I don’t know if it will fix your problem as I haven’t updated to 1.6 and I’m using his 1.4 mods still.
Good luck!

22 11 2009
Melissa
23 11 2009
hrootbeer

Twallen’s mod is updated to work with WA and the patches. I can’t verify the WA part of it as I don’t have the expansion yet. I know it works with all of my CC, though.

http://www.the-isz.com/theisz/index.php?showtopic=3548&s=ad5af0d9f217b42ced25b2e4bc367f87

For myself, I have completely abandoned awesomemod as it severely lagged out my computer and my game. I like this one much better. It has options like teen pregnancy and other things that you might be using with different mods. Anyway, if you take out everything but hair and clothes, I think this might work.

23 11 2009
hrootbeer

whoops, I should have said that I have all of the latest patches…I just don’t have the expansion yet.

23 11 2009
Courtney

I only deleted all my hacks, and left in skintones, default replacements, hair, clothes, furniture, houses, patterns, make-up and accessories. My game still works fine. Maybe try that. I also updated my game to the latest patches.

23 11 2009
StarSarah - TheShenstonLegacy

Thank you so much guys for all your advice. I do not have the awaresome mod installed – all it is is clothes, hair, furniture and skintones.

I took away all of my mods on Saturday and put them back in one by one. It took me all day! I managed to get the game working on minumn mods and played a session, but then the game would not save! So i lost everything! I nearly cried.

I am going to definitly install Twallen’s mod tonight and hope that it will work. Fingers crossed guys, and once again – thanks you for all your help and understanding xxxx

23 11 2009
pixxidancer

with the saving issue. instead of clicking “Save” click “save as” instead. That makes it work methinks. Seriously, the amount of problems with wa is astounding! Nearly everyone’s game had a problem. Anyways hope that helps 🙂

23 11 2009
Courtney

So far my WA hasn’t had any problems, for which I am grateful.
I really hope that your game works! I miss the Shenstons!

4 01 2010
Mathilda

😦 Darn I’m sorry then. I like Emma’s earrings and hair but now, her makeup makes her look like she is in need of a boyfriend fast. oh 911! I don’t have a boyfriend!!! LOL jk I like Anna and Ava and Eva. Those are interseting names!

()*_*() heh heh this looks funny

Leave a Reply

